Preparing for Our Walk

As the day of departure (July 30th) approaches, both Jimmy and I have been preparing–each in our way. Yesterday Jimmy emailed me to say he had gone out for a walk in the rain, to test out his rain gear. While there wasn’t much rain, he encountered some muddy spots that convinced him of the value of gaiters–which he had already procured. I will be picking up a pair later this week. Today I purchased arnica gel, homeopathic arnica pills, and rosemary oil — in anticipation of potential aches and pains. I also spent a happy hour putting my daily vitamins into little compartments in plastic holders–maybe not entirely necessary, but satisfying all the same. I haven’t yet tried packing my suitcase, though I hope to do this by Wednesday.

15 comments on “Preparing for Our Walk

  1. Congrats on your awesome journey! Pack as light and tight as you can. Good luck and god speed!

  2. I’ll be following you with envy, Joyce. I wished I could have gone with you in 2003. I made it to England a few years ago – to Stonehenge and London. Have the best time. Alice

  3. Michele Levy says:

    So excited for you both! Will be with you vicariously.

  4. Marie Griffin says:

    Did I miss the obvious before, that you are James Joyce? Any keep writing during the excursion so we can follow. Love the map–can almost see you both marching across. M

    • Actually, we had missed it too . . . it was only brought to our attention by our friend Maria McGarrity, a Joyce scholar, who one day got emails from both of us with the same subject line: “James Joyce” she read in her inbox list, and delightedly wrote to each of us to report it!

  5. Gerry says:

    So glad you’re doing a blog. I’ll be walking along in spirit and singing my version of the Happy Wanderer: “We’re hiking today to the hills, tra la la”

  6. Marguerite says:

    I have often dreamed of Dorothy and William Wordsworth wandering through the lake country, resting a bit with Coleridge. I am so thrilled for you! I can’t wait to hear more.

  7. Kathy says:

    Love the blog and thanks for the map. So excited for you.

  8. pat roth says:

    Its raining here again too, Jimmy! Sounds like you’re going to have a great time…wish I was there (….can’t get that song out of my head…..)

Leave a Reply

