Later

I’m hoping Joyce is safe at home in Brooklyn now.  My return flight is scheduled for tomorrow, and I’ve been making my way to the Manchester Airport in stages with my big heavy bag — by train of course, but I do have to lug it now and then, and it makes finding a room a little more of a challenge.

  I’ve had two nice days in Scarborough and one in York.   The second evening in Scarborough I actually did some walking on the sand without my boots, something that didn’t seem like an option when we were in St. Bees and in Robin Hoods Bay, what with the weather and the high tide.  My bootlaces, which seemed about a foot too long for me all through the Walk, turn out to be just the right length for tying the boots together and carrying them slung over the shoulder.   York is crowded, maybe more than usual because of a big horse race, but I’m enjoying the museums and the old buildings, and at the moment I’m very grateful for the public library.

    Thanks to everyone for your comments, and thanks to Joyce for setting this up — the walk, and the blog too.   I’ve learned a lot.

5 comments on “Later

  1. Joni says:

    Your whole trip just seemed to be so awsome for the two of you and thru your writting and pictures it was a cool experience for me too.Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. ronarruda says:

    Safe trip back! Don’t forget the earplugs.

  3. Peggy Sandoval says:

    Safe journey back home, Jimmy. Glad you were able to enjoy the trip.

  4. Barney says:

    Thank you for the blog. It was great to be able to follow you from the comfort of my own home (in England)! I hope you have/had a safe trip home.

  5. Gerry says:

    But too cold for more than tiptoes in the water, I guess. Glad to have you back on our coast.

Leave a Reply

